Uprooting Weeds

flower-gardenIt’s gardening season! I’ve been looking forward to getting my yard in order. This year, I vouched to plant perennials only, so I won’t have to re-plant stuff every year. Last year I didn’t do a great job of removing the weeds from along the house, so I worked on it for quite a while yesterday. It seemed never-ending, but it was therapeutic, honestly.

As I was trying to uproot the weeds surrounding my rosebushes, I thought of a perfect example for this post. The rosebushes were planted for a purpose- to grow and produce flowers. And they are the most beautiful when they are fully bloomed. Unfortunately, weeds surround them. The weeds seem superficial, but don’t let them fool you; their roots grow deep. And if you don’t remove the root, it won’t go away.

Some of the weeds were easy to remove. Some of the weeds were more difficult to remove; I couldn’t get the roots with my hands. Instead, I had to use a shovel to assist the removal. Some of the weeds blossomed into pretty purple flowers (like the ones surrounding my rhododendrons in the image below). They have a “disguise” that makes them appear to be something they are not. If the weeds are left untouched, the roots can get entangled in the rosebush roots, delaying or preventing the flower’s bloom.

unnamed-1.jpg

Time for an analogy. God planted us on earth (John 15:1) for a purpose- to grow as Christians, produce fruit (John 15:5b), and make disciples (John 15:8). But we are surrounded by sin and struggles AKA “weeds”. We must uproot the “weeds” in our lives in order to protect our relationship with Christ. Are you picking up what I’m putting down?

I understand the world, full of hatred and immorality, is one giant weed. No matter what we are going to be surrounded by works of the devil. However, there are things in our lives that we can choose to uproot in order to draw closer to God. It may be a friend who is always convincing you to do something you may not agree with. It may be an addiction to a substance. It may be a negative attitude you have against a co-worker. It may be your constant desire to spend money on material things. It may be a recurring temptation you can’t seem to overcome. It may be a continual argument that returns time and time again with your spouse.

These are the “weeds” that I am referring to. Let’s get rid of these things, especially the ones that easily trip us up, so they won’t hinder our progress as Christians.

…let us strip off every weight that shows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race that God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith. Hebrews 12:1b-2a

44754b53e762fc48a657462ba23863d7.jpgAs I removed the weeds from around my rosebushes, I quickly realized I couldn’t get them with my bare hands- I needed my shovel. The tighter I gripped the shovel, the easier it was to remove the root of the weed. Likewise, the tighter you grasp onto your relationship with Christ, the easier it will be to remove the weeds in your life. Keeping our eyes on Jesus will help us to do so. Guys, we are living this life for God, not for ourselves, so remove all the crap that deters your relationship with Him!

What are the “weeds” in your life that constantly trip you up? Let’s start working to remove those. Grasp more tightly to God- read your Bible, pray continuously, go to Church- and these things we become easier and easier to remove.

xo Taylor

Leave a Reply

