New Year’s Resolution #1: Spending More Time with Jesus

Life… it happens. It’s so easy to get caught up in the craziness of life and lose focus of what is truly important. I’m definitely guilty of it. I look at my schedule and realize I have four full days off per week. FOUR DAYS, people. I love my ER schedule. Where does my time go? If I actually write down (then cross off) the tasks I complete on my days off, I feel accomplished. But why don’t I ever write “spend time with God” or “read my Bible”? Is it because I assume that it’s something I will do or because it’s not on my top priority list? I do read my Bible and Jesus Calling every morning with my coffee, but some days it’s only 15 minutes. The amount of time I spend with Jesus is minuscule in comparison to the amount of time I spend doing other endless tasks.

And what is really important in the end: swiffering the floor everyday (because I have a golden retriever who sheds like it’s his job) or spending time along with God; making my bed so the pillows are just right or laying in my bed a bit longer in the morning to say a few prayers; binge watching Fuller House 2 on Netflix or listening to a Christian motivational speaker. Am I saying to stop cleaning your house or watching television shows you enjoy? Nope, not at all. You can do those things, but try not to lose focus on Jesus.

Sometimes we get caught up in our daily tasks and don’t spend time with or even acknowledge God like we should. We forget Jesus when life is going smoothly because we feel adequate enough to do life on our own. But as soon as you hit a rough patch, I guarantee you’ll be praying for help like you didn’t just “forget” about God for the last couple of weeks. Remember that apart from God, we can do nothing, John 15:5. We should be acknowledging Jesus everyday, whether life is going smoothly or we are in the midst of a storm.

“Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit. For apart from me you can do nothing.” John 15:5

This year, I want to increase the amount of time I spend with God, and I challenge you to do the same. Ultimately, my goal is to know Jesus more and more everyday so that I can be more like Him, James 1:22. I’ve started playing K-Love in my house while I’m doing “endless” tasks like swiffering, washing clothes, unloading the dishwasher, etc. I received a prayer journal for Christmas, so I started writing down my prayers; it helps my mind stay focused. I also want to start going to Christian concerts and/or events. My husband and I signed up for a 3-day Christian marriage conference this spring. My mom and I are going to see Joyce Meyer live this fall. I’m looking forward to making these positive changes in my life, and I am excited to see how my relationship with Jesus will grow this year.

Make 2017 your year to strengthen or even build your relationship with God. Start reading your Bible everyday (Joshua 1:8), listening to K-love, and writing down your prayers. Your life will be transformed! God can do immeasurably more for you than you can imagine or think, Ephesians 3:20.

xo Taylor

One thought on “New Year’s Resolution #1: Spending More Time with Jesus

Leave a Reply

