Thanksgiving, Giving Thanks

Well, I fell asleep on the couch at like 8:30 and woke up at midnight. Wide awake. So I did what I typically do: had a muffin and a cup of tea. Nothing like having a legitimate midnight snack. I’m cozied up on the couch watching a Hallmark Christmas movie (no judgments) and writing this post. My best ideas for posts come at the most random times.

It’s that time of year where everyone is focusing on Thanksgiving and Christmas. Thanksgiving seems to be the one time of year the majority of people acknowledge everything they are thankful for. And then a large portion of those same people, proceed to spend hundreds or thousands of dollars Black Friday shopping just after celebrating what they already have. It’s not a sin to want to get the bets bargain for your money. I get that. But when buying new things becomes the focus of this holiday we lose sight of the true meaning of Thanksgiving. This is beside the point of this post, though. In my opinion, however, I think there is a bigger issue…why is it that we are recognizing all of our blessings solely one day a year.

c172f2166da3d12cde239ca6648d225a89300f9bab6582453ec302ba88953cdd.jpg

Many of us have so much more to be thankful for than we realize and yet find ourselves complaining about some of the pettiest things. Guilty. It’s easy to complain about our everyday annoyances, but I think we need to redirect our thoughts. The glass is half full, not half empty.

There are days where complain to myself about the dumbest things- traffic, having to wait in a long grocery line, not being able to find something to wear, et cetera. Then I go to work, and I encounter people who very sick: middle-aged adults with stage 4 lung cancer, a young child who is deaf, people with chronic, relapsing conditions that keep them from living a typical life. It makes me almost guilty for complaining about anything because it could be so much worse.

Like I said before, it’s easy to let our minds drift and pick out the inconveniences or annoyances that irritate us on a daily basis. God doesn’t want us to dwell on these minute things but be thankful everyday for His blessings. Guys, we are receiving a Kingdom that is unshakable, so let us be thankful and please God (Hebrews 12:28)!

How can we be thankful everyday?

     Thank God for answering our prayers.

I will answer them before they even call to me. While they are still talking about their needs, I will go ahead and answer their prayers. Isaiah 65:24

     Thank for God’s provision of our needs.

Since everything God created is good, we should not reject any of it but receive it with thanks. 1 Timothy 4:4

     Thank God for his blessings.

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever. 1 Chronicles 16:34

     Thank God for his grace and wonderful gifts.

…because of the overflowing grace God has given you. Thank God for this gift which is too wonderful for words. 2 Corinthians 9:14-15

     Thank God for our brothers and sisters in Christ.

Ever since I heard of your strong faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for God’s people everywhere, I have not stopped thanking God for you. I pray for you constantly… Ephesians 1:15-16

Have I made myself clear? These are unfailing things to be thankful for, even on a bad day. This Thanksgiving let us remind the ones we love why we are thankful for them, and let us thank God for his blessings, grace, and unfailing love. But don’t let it stop there. Carry on the “Thanksgiving mind set” throughout your daily life so that we are thankful in all circumstances, 1 Thessalonians 5:18.

Okay, getting off my soapbox now. Happy Thanksgiving!

xo Taylor

Leave a Reply

